Friday Tip #9 – Move! Now!

Friday tip Owl

Whether you are a researcher, a student or even an entrepreneur, you probably spend a big part of your day sitting. That is literally killing you. So I came up with a few tips that can help you get healthier.

1. Start your day running

No, I do not mean running through breakfast, running to the bus or running to get on time… I mean put your running clothes on and run. I like to run. I don’t run long distances and I have never been a sports person. I don’t participate in marathons, but I do like the occasional challenge to keep me motivated to practice. I run alone and most of the time without music. It helps me clear my mind and often I have some good ideas while running. In fact, little secret between you and me: I had the idea to create this blog while I was having my morning run! If you are not used to run, at first it will be a challenge, but as soon as you get used to it, it can be really pleasant and inspiring. Besides, running has many other advantages for your health!

2. Don’t call. Go there.

You know when you pick up the phone to call that colleague that sits just two rooms away from you? Or to ask the secretary if you have any messages or mail? Take these opportunities to move. Instead of calling this person, go there and talk to them.

3. In case of fire or no fire: use the stairs.

Always use the stairs when you need to move in the building. Unless you have to climb 20 floors use the stairs when you have to go to lunch, when you have to go to a meeting etc. It is good for your body and especially for your heart.

4. Do you have 7 minutes to talk about exercise? 

I came across this app when reading about healthy habits that successful people have: Seven. It has a circuit of 7 minutes of high intensity exercises that you can completely do at home with no need for special equipment. You can take several challenges in your workout, select a motivational voice to help you or do several circuits in one day. What? You have no time to exercise? It’s just 7 minutes!!!

5. Here is your dessert: a sweet walk outside

Even when you are very busy, do not have lunch behind your desk. Have a break. And after take a walk. Eating and sitting down is not exactly what our bodies are designed to do right? A walk of 15 minutes is enough to get rid of that sleepy feeling that usually follows lunch.

I hope this helps you to move more! Do you have any other tips do have a healthier life style? Please share!

Leave a comment